Building a startup & I'm having problems negotiating with technical engineers

Hello guys, I’m building a new fintech startup and I’m in search of a technical engineer, the problem I’m having now is that the engineers I have approached want to be co-founders of the startup.

This is my first time running a startup and I don’t want to make any silly mistake… Should I let them in as co-founders or not ? And what’s the right way to negotiate with a co-founder or a technical engineer ?
Please I need help and answers. Thanks guys

The point truth is this…
You need to learn more about startup eco-system.

There is no one way approach to building a startup, as you are going to meet different situation which you or others haven’t met before, but your resilience and knowledge of the terrain is what will keep you moving.

Secondly, building a startup of such will actively require a tech person in the team, either as your Co-founder or CTO because he will need to oversee the engineering and technical aspects, including hiring the right person with the right skill if needed.

So Yes, you will need him as a Co-founder.

Draft a papper agreement and both party should sign it with an agreement on what roles and share individual will be parting with.
More also learn up alot about startup eco-system…I can’t stress this enough.

If you have some edge, consulting a startup legal entity will save you from half of the stress.
To you success, remain great.

4 Likes

I would say you are a lucky person to have a technical co-founder.
You will definitely make silly mistakes which is ok, as long as you learn from them.

Bravo.:clap: Well explained

Thanks boss…I appreciate

I will suggest you checkout this free platform: startupschool.com
There are tons of videos on the site and you can provide weekly updates to keep you accountable and join group discussions with other startup founders.